Online shopping has become increasingly popular. Why do people shop online? What are the environmental problems caused by this trend?

With the evolution of technology, most of the jobs today can be achieved through a single click. There is an increasing demand for online shopping with every passing day. The companies lure customers by making use of flash deals, premium member discounts and various other such schemes. According to the Times, the growth of internet purchases has increased by 200% in the last decade. People today prefer to shop online rather than buy an item physically at a store, especially the upcoming generation who are making the best use of technology. In this case, I would like to take myself as an example to explain why people prefer the Internet to buy things. The main reason would be having not to move out of the house and get everything to your home, the next being, times when I am super busy and could not shop for any groceries or any household items, to buy different goods at much lesser prices than in the stores. Since there are multiple online platforms that provide you with the facility, the crowd prefers to buy online. Though virtual purchases are interesting and comfortable, there are also a few issues that are affecting the environment. When an order is placed, the item is neatly wrapped in multiple layers of bubble wrap and further wrapped in plastic and finally placed in a carton box, and when the order is delivered the plastic waste would be discarded. Everybody knows the dangerous effects of plastic on the environment. Apart from this, the transportation of these items by road or air results in some amount of pollution. To conclude in short, I would say the public would continue their purchases and this number is bound to grow up even more in the future and simultaneous measures should be taken to minimise the effects on the environment.