There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment.What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as form of assessment?

In recent years, the approach of using examinations to assess students has risen in popularity ocer the alternative continual assessment. This essay will outline both the advantages and disadvantages that result from such an approach. To begin with the possitives, a crusial advantage of exam that has a form of assessment is that they leave little room for cheating. This is because exams are often undertaken in the presence of invigilators, whose job it is to dictate any candidates breaking the rules. In contrast, the continual assessments have the risk of plagirism since assignments are often completed with the help of Internet. Behides reducing cheating, exams is time effective. They usually only appear once and twoce per year, they free up more time for students to revise and prepare. Nevertheless, assessing students via examinations does have some disadvantages. For instance, they are extremely intelligent and creative, but when put under pressure their mind can go blank. Considersing that exams are situstion situations of intencely intense pressure. it is no wonder that even the blightest student sometimes perform poorly. Another drawback is the narrow range of information that students teasted on. Unlike continual assessments, the small window of time in test limits how many questions are asked, thus failing to test the students ' knowlwdge. In conclusion, although exams are benecifial to some extent thanks to cutting out cheating and time efficiency, it is also important to consider that they can disturb students ' concentration and are arguably as thorough as continual assessment.