Government investments in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a wate of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Some parts of the population believe that the authorities showing interest in investing in arts such as music and theatre are a complete waste of funds and this money should be jeered towards improving public services. I totally disagree with the statement because investing in crafts like music and theatre is a means of sustaining the cultural identity and diversity of the community and it is still a means of generating more revenue for the society through tourism. These points will be explained more with relevant examples in subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, a population is made up of diverse cultures that are represented through the arts. Moreover, this investment will be very beneficial because the identity of all cultures will be preserved for future generations. For example, storytelling can be done with music and paintings which will be a process of upholding the values of the culture and extending the lifespan of their traditional heritage. Various festivities and peculiar displays from different ethnic groups organized with assistance from the government will give the indigenes a sense of belonging thereby fostering unity in diversity. Therefore, the importance of governmental financial involvement in creativity cannot be overemphasized. Secondly, revenue can be generated by creating tourist attraction sites through the use of art. For instance, tourist attractions including museums, musical theatres and movie theatres receive thousands of visitors daily from all over the world. This will create a positive surge in the economy of the state which will not only be beneficial to the government but will also be profitable to the population at large. As expected, improving the nation's artistic craft will be a sustainable way of rapidly growing the finances of the state to its peak. In conclusion, it is very important to note that investing in artistry should not be seen as a waste. However, it should be seen as a system of safeguarding cultural heritage and regarded as a means of boosting the country’s economy through tourism.