In some schools and universities, girls choose arts subjects (literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

These days, a majority of female students choose art as a major in schools and universities, while male pupils choose science subjects because of social expectations such as parental pressure. I strongly believe that this phenomenon should be changed since students have a right to choose their preferences independently. To begin with, nowadays, parents have an important role in choosing their sons' or daughters' majors. they think that it would be beneficial for girls to choose arts subjects due to their future jobs. Indeed, female students tend to get better jobs quickly after graduating from art schools rather than physics schools in South Korea. In addition, parents also encourage boys to choose science subjects to get a good opportunity. they believe if male students major in science, they will have great careers in the future. Even though a number of students have their preferences regardless of gender, they are affected by parents ' pressure. In order to meet social expectations, some students just follow their parents ' opinions. Then, unfortunately, they choose the majors that their parents want. Nevertheless, I reckon that this tendency has to be changed because students deserve to choose their preferences by themselves. In spite of parents ' pressure, they can be independent when they choose their subjects. which means they can insist on their favourite thing to their parents. For example, everyone has different talents and preferences regardless of gender. So, some boys love drawing pictures and other girls prefer solving science problems. In this case, many students will be able to choose what they are interested in as a major in schools or universities. Moreover, parents also change their minds and stereotypes. they have to respect their children's perspectives and should not force them to follow their parents ' thoughts. In conclusion, it is true that when young individuals choose their majors, they tend to make a decision according to their gender because of social expectations. However, they have to overcome this situation by being independent from their parents. Furthermore, parents can respect their children's opinions.