Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the most significant features of the twenty-first century is the rapid development of information technologies (IT). Digital technologies have become an entrenched part of human life, appearing everywhere, ranging from communications to entertainment. Although its emergence brought negative consequences, I believe Information Technology has some crucial social benefits. It should be admitted that digital technologies have raised a few issues primarily due to overly simplifying human life and making certain activities redundant. First, the development of intelligent technologies led to a lack of physical movement among people. For example, the emergence of gadgets like remote controllers and mobile phones meant that things could be controlled remotely, eliminating the need to traverse distances. Second, it caused a decline in physical contact. Real-time video and audio conversation applications made social celebrations and visiting each other redundant. On the other hand, IT has numerous advantages that improve the quality of life. One of the most remarkable innovations that IT introduced is the internet, which helps to link all parts of the world together. Thanks to the internet and billions of websites available, modern people can easily access a wide range of useful information sources, read books online and communicate with their relatives over large distances. Digital technologies have also eliminated numerous manual and time-wasting activities from the daily life of the average person. Thanks to advancements in Artificial Technology and the development of software applications, many manual jobs were automated. For instance, finding the translation of a word in a foreign language became as simple as searching for a phrase on a mobile application. To conclude, Information Technologies have raised a few social and health problems, but the benefits they introduce easily overweight their downsides.