Many countries aim to improve their living standards by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many countries attempt to boost people’s living standards, which leads to some social values being lost. I believe that the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks. There are, I concede, reasons for supporting that economic development does harm to the social values, and an obvious one is that it leads to people are busy with earning money in society. They focus on money and possessions, no longer care about and help other societies and things around. They become indifferent, no longer love and harmony, resulting in the loss of social value. Another is some factories pursue high efficiency and high profit, giving up the choice of equipment to protect the environment from pollution. They are less and less concerned with the idea of harmony between man and nature. Nevertheless, I feel, the upsides are more persuasive. Economic development is a necessary thing that every country pursues. With the development of economy, people will get more job opportunities. With the increase of people’s incomes, people’s living standard is improved. Also, the country can invest manpower, material and financial recourse to invent transportation equipment, such as high-speed trains and planes, so that people can travel more conveniently. Another benefit of economic development is that governments have enough funds to spend on reducing poverty. This means that they give financial support, such as food, money and assistance, to low-income families to raise their standard of living. Overall, it seems to me that the benefit of economic development is good for people’s living standard outweigh than the drawbacks.