Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are a set of procedures needed to complete while seeking opportunities. The hiring person might ask candidates to fill out forms which require insights about the activities they love to do during their free time, their other interests, and about their marital lives. A few individuals believe it is important to capture this information, however, the other half do not support this belief. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the view and support the former view with examples. People who are against capturing these details might think they are oversharing. This is because they usually get uncomfortable while sharing their personal life with strangers. For instance, many employees tend to not mix their professional and personal life. They probably want to keep some things discrete. Conversely, this is not the case for everyone. Some candidates might understand the importance of gathering personal details. Due to this company officials could understand the personality of a candidate. To elaborate, if a working woman is married, it might give a hint to their supervisors about her duties towards home, which would be beneficial for the company and to her in scheduling her day. Furthermore, revealing things to do in their free time could create a bond between colleagues who have familiar interests. As a result, this information is very helpful. I completely agree with this notion as it might help managers to understand more about job seekers. Apart from professional skills, they should be aware of their interests and marital status. For example, there might be job positions where bachelor candidates might be needed as the company might want to send them to a client location, hence, sponsoring a single person is financially easy. Sharing a little bit about their lives might help interviews in segregating the candidates from the entire list. In conclusion, although people might be uncomfortable and discrete about their personal life, I strongly support the idea of sharing details as it could be helpful for the company and candidates.