Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays a lot of kids are spending hours and hours on their mobile phones. Technological devices, especially smartphones, have a huge impact on the younger generation. Being able to check nearly everything online whenever we want has a lot of advantages but also disadvantages at the same time for kids. Using the available technology too much can cause a severe addiction. In my essay I will discuss the pros and cons of smartphone usage and identify why it is so addictive and popular. Having all the information in our hands (in the smartphones) can be a great thing if we use it right. It is hard to tell if smartphones have a negative or positive effect on the younger generations' development, because the youngest so called “Ipad generation” is still growing up. On the one hand If they can use the information overflow and select the right ones that they need it can be extremely useful for them, but on the other hand if they are wasting their time doing nothing online that can cause a negative development. Chatting with friends and family all around the world anytime, from anywhere is amazing. Listening to music, watching great films are great free time activities such as playing video games. Although they can be addictive especially for someone who does not know how to separate free time activities and the productive part of the day from each other. In my opinion the biggest problem with smartphones is the FOMO (fear of missing out), what kids feel whenever they leave their cellphones behind or while using social media websites. One problem is when they are seeing other people (or even their own friends) going on programmes, holidays, watching influencers having the perfect life. That can be really misleading. The other problem is when they are playing a live video game. They do not want to stop playing because their friends are online, everything is happening so fast and they do not even want to miss a second out of the fun game. All in all I think you can not generalize with smartphones, it always depends on the person and the way they are using their technological devices. Sometimes it would be useful if parents controlled it, sometimes it's better not to be too hard about it. Every parent has to care for their children and know the limits of what they allow.