Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether industries or consumers should be responsible for the reduction in over-wrapping of products displayed in stores. This essay will discuss both arguments and explain why I believe companies should make more efforts in boycotting excessive packaging. These points will be further explained with relevant examples and a logical conclusion in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, many producers manufacture commodities and put them in boxes as a means of attracting customers to buy their goods. However, some of the materials that are used in making such packages are not eco-friendly and have led to the depletion of the ozone layers in recent years. For this reason, industries as a whole will benefit greatly from looking for environmentally friendly alternatives for their commodities. Conversely, buyers also play a role in saving the earth from harmful activities by stopping the purchase of items wrapped in a large amount of plastic covering. This will result in less demand for such items and it will directly limit manufacturing, thereby causing a decline in sales. For example, in Nigeria, the massive reduction in the purchase of packaged meat from a particular meat vendor led the company to invent jut bags for their meat sales. Moreover, customers can replace nylon-packed groceries with reusable shopping bags that are not dangerous to the environment. In conclusion, individuals have a role to play in the reduction of packaged consumables. I believe companies and shops have more responsibility in ensuring that their products are not detrimental to the ecosystem.