Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful to them in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In recent times, it has been opined by some individuals that all higher institutions should give students the opportunity to study whatsoever course they prefer, although others think that they study subjects that will be of importance in time to come; for instance, those that are close to science and technology related. In my,opinion I think the university should decide what the students read. This essay will explain both ideas and my view with examples and a logical conclusion will be drawn. To begin, it is necessary that all academic candidates in universities choose which field fits them best, this will increase the individuals' motivation towards learning in that profession and also the willingness to get to the peak. Moreso, when students are involved in the subject they like they tend to give less excuses and more attention because they enjoy studying in that area. For instance, Mary was performing poorly in theatre arts because it was forced upon her by her tutor however, when she made up her mind to switch to geography she was the best in her department. Therefore, it is important that freedom must be given to youngsters to decide their course of study. Furthermore, students should only involve themselves in courses that will be favourable to them in later years, like science and technology, this is due to the fact that it will increase their chances to get jobs after getting their certificates, without having to pass through stress of job hunting and feeling rejected each them they are not called for interviews. For instance, James studied computer science at the university and got employed immediately despite his low academic grade this happened as the company lacked professionals to help them with the computer. Hence, it is seen that making young people undertake subjects that would be relevant in the future. Finally, from my own perspective, I think high school has the sole responsibility to decide the course any individual is to study, they are saddled with the responsibility to orientate adolescence with the knowledge of different careers pathway and should decide which field they performed best, this helps them to determine the subject that soothe the child. In conclusion, although students should select what they like to read, others think that only courses that are in close relationship with science and technology ought to be studied, in my,opinion I suggest that secondary schools are in a better position to take the decision of what each person studies.