Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation has more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays many individuals spend a lot of time at work, thus reducing the amount of spare time for their hobbies. Although this phenomenon impacts economies in a positive way, I believe that its drawbacks as an influence on mental health have more negative consequences. On the one hand, extended working hours result in a highly productive company or even economy, as one employee can produce more products or services during the day. The company will sell these goods and make more profit consequently they will pay more taxes. The government will raise a bigger amount of funds and use them to improve public sectors; therefore, the quality of life in society will go up. For instance, countries with high labour productivity such as South Korea and Japan are well-known for their developed social sphere. On the other hand, a very limited amount of spare time can lead to a wide range of psychological problems, since work-life balance is destroyed and the brain does not have a possibility to recover. Individuals spending day and night at work start thinking that their existence is pointless, and it can cause some serious illnesses, such as depression. For example, half of the people aged from 20 to 50 at least once felt depressed. However, all of this could be fixed by adjusting a balance between work and life, enough sleep, gathering with family and friends, and adding new hobbies to a daily routine. In conclusion, despite working long hours can help economies to grow, the mental health of society should be a priority, as joyful and rested people could bring more benefits, rather than tired and depressed ones.