In many parts of the world, women study science and technology but do not work in these fields. What measures can be taken to encourage women to work in science and technology?

Nowadays, women in many parts of the world are highly educated and masters in the fields of science and technology. However, even though they specialise in these areas, most of them do not take up domain-related tasks. This essay will elucidate the possible measure that can be undertaken in order to encourage them to work in these fields. So, despite tremendous advancements, men and women are not treated equally. Moreover, there are discrepancies in pay as well. For instance, in the 1980s in the United States, males were paid 40% higher than females in computer-related tasks. This disparity led to a fall in the number of ladies in the workplace. That is when the law-making bodies established a rule for equal pay. This encouraged many of them to take up reputable jobs at corporates, and their employment rate increased by 80%. Hence, the government of other nations too must implement equal wages for all, irrespective of gender. This will definitely motivate females who are well-educated but have not taken up work because of differentiation in pay scale. Apart from that, due to these gender biases, females are expected to leave their employment after childbirth. Thus, in order to fulfil their responsibilities toward their wards, they are unable to continue with their 9-5 jobs. By contrast, for example, in the United Kingdom, Google company introduced a new concept of working from home, creche and nursery at the workplace, flexible working hours for all, etc. This encouraged many women to take up jobs at this company and increased their women’s workforce by 50%. Therefore, by introducing such amenities for female employees, many of them will feel the urge to continue working even after becoming mothers. To conclude, indeed, it is the need of the hour to stabilise the declining women’s employment rate in many nations. In my view, by implementing measures like equal and well-deserving pay scales, and flexible working hours, they will be motivated to work in the areas of their education. Both, the governments as well as companies must forward and resolve this problem together.