Some people think that all universities students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Certain individuals are of the view that undergraduates should be given the privilege to study what they like, while others believe that they should be allowed to study only courses that will be relevant in the future like science and technology. I am of the opinion that these undergraduates should be allowed to go for whatever course they like reason being that it will help them to enjoy the course better and be independent when they graduate. Firstly, every individual has a right to choice which must be recognized. A university student who wants to study what he or she likes is ready to give the possible best in the course and also, to enjoy every phase of the course. This decision is sometimes inspired by the models around them and what they have a natural interest in. This is a good way to enable an undergraduate to become responsible. For example, most of the young adults in my community studied the course of their choice and they turned out to be mature and very independent. On the other hand, studying only selective subjects because of the future can limit the student to only a particular pattern in life and hide the interest and passion of the student. Furthermore, it is not only these selective subjects that will be relevant in the future because the world is evolving. For instance, universities now have new courses on social issues which will also be very relevant in the nearest future. I believe that university students should study the course of their choice because this will help them to enjoy it better and they would be ready to take the responsibility of excelling at it thereby making them mature and independent. In conclusion, some people believe that there should be free will for an undergraduate to study the course of choice while others believe that their choices should be tailored to only subjects like science and technology that will be useful in the future. However, I am of the opinion that the former will allow the students to enjoy the course and be more Independent.