The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a contentious issue whether the only solution to ease traffic congestion is to reduce the necessity for people to get to work, educational institutions and shopping malls. I strongly disagree with this statement, and I believe that the combined effort of advanced online communication that minimizes the need for physical transportation and other urban infrastructural development can reduce the amount of city traffic in a sustainable way. Indeed, the crucial step to improve traffic conditions in megalopolises is to cut down the need for the population to travel to any place. This measure can be implemented by enabling them to work from home, providing online education, creating the opportunity to do the shopping on the Internet and order desired things straight to the doorstep. These initiatives might bring about improvements in road issues by easing pressure on public transport, making the environment in cities less polluted and relieving road congestion. Moreover, it will not only make a difference on the roads but will influence the overall lifestyle, because citizens will be able to devote more free time to personal needs, which was previously spent reaching their destinations. However, there are more effective solutions which will enhance traffic and cut the quantity of cars. These can be the increase of prices for petrol, reconstruction of roads and installation of signposts or road signs. The higher charge for petrol is likely to discourage people from traveling, make them stay at home or, at least, budge on the decision to use public transport. Modernization of roads will expand road capacity and improve road junctions, and updated signposts and signs will assist drivers in passing problematic intersections faster. In conclusion, I completely disagree that only cutting the need for communication would reduce the amount of city traffic, rather I believe that, along with establishing alternative online communication, a combination of governmental resolutions such as raising taxes for petrol, redesigning roads and putting up new signs will contribute effectively on reducing the load of urban traffic.