Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. What is your opinion?

Currently, high crime rates have concerned many countries. While some people say that reinforcing police activity on streets would be the only option to prevent crimes, others argue that several measures could also help with this. I strongly agree with the latter statement and this essay will support my view with examples. First and foremost, increasing the quantity of police on the streets is only one out of many other measures that can improve the safety of urban areas. For example, for some private companies and residential neighbourhoods it is extremely common to hire security guards to prevent crimes such as invasions and thefts. As a result, criminal activity in these places, where there are professionals working to guarantee their protection, is unlikely to happen. Therefore, police activity can be replaced by private security, and the result will be exactly the same. Additionally, humans are not always required to reduce crimes; other objects can also play an important role in this. Cameras, for example; if they are installed in dangerous areas of cities to record everything that happens there, criminals will probably avoid these places. In other words, when there are cameras around, crime rates tend to drop, as criminals will not take the risk of getting caught by the recordings. Consequently, cameras, which have been heavily used worldwide to prevent crimes, illustrate that people should not count only on the police to protect them. To conclude, countries that have been struggling with crimes should encourage their population to invest in both private security and infrastructure for cameras, which are highly effective against criminals. Having more police on the streets should also be considered, however, it is not the only way to reduce crime.