Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that university students should be given the freedom to choose the subjects they want to learn while others think it’s better to prepare them to be job-ready by introducing science and technology-related subjects. In my opinion, it would be more beneficial if students studied subjects, they are interested in. On the one hand, people support technology and science subjects due to their rising significance to our day-to-day lives. It is expected that jobs in the technology and science sectors will be in more demand in the future. Students who choose those subjects can find jobs easily after their studies while many fresh graduates are struggling to land their first job. Consequently, IT and science students will be able to pay off their student debts earlier and attain their desired lifestyle. Therefore, tech and science subjects are popular among young people and their parents due to high employability and attractive salary packages. On the other hand, students should study the subjects which they are passionate about. Success will follow only when people learn in their interested subject areas based on their talents and skill sets. For example, an individual who has exceptional artistic and creative skills tends to excel in art subjects and it would be a waste if he is forced to study in tech and science majors. In addition, it’s not practical to force all the students to study only technology and science -related subjects since the nation can’t be run with just tech professionals and scientists. To conclude, all students should be granted to decide which subjects they want to study for their future career.