Increasıng the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

According to some people, The best way to mitigate the booming traffic and pollution problem is by raising the price of petrol. According to them, It will decrease the number of vehicles and as a result, It will reduce traffic and pollution. However, In my opinion, I cannot but disagree with this opinion since this can in no way contribute to traffic and pollution as we must seek a solution rather than completely remove the problem. I will discuss effective ways such as strict traffic rules and increasing taxes on cars. To begin with, By increasing the petrol price will have little to no effect on many since personal cars are used by wealthy people and there will be little impact on them with this price increase. As far as I am concerned, traffic and pollution occur because of the increasing number of private vehicles on the road. For example, In Dhaka city, the primary reason for traffic and pollution is because of the overwhelming amount of private vehicles on the road according to research done by the Bangladesh government. Additionally, This price increase will directly affect the middle class and poor people which is not a good thing for a country's economy. Therefore, I believe the idea of raising the petrol price is not an ideal solution. On the other hand, The implementation of strict traffic rules is one of the suitable measures to solve this issue. If traffic rules strictly adhere to, then the pollution and traffic issues will automatically fall. Secondly, Raising the tax on the purchase of private cars and other vehicles will have a direct effect on the sales of these vehicles. As a matter of fact, this will reduce these on the roads which means less vehicles on the road, therefore, traffic and pollution will gradually go down. To sum up, a Petrol price hike is never a viable solution to tackle traffic and pollution problem whereas strict traffic rules and increase of tax on purchases are the better options to tackle thess the problems. It is recommended that these solutions must be implemented in near future to mitigate these issues.