In the past, people lived in the same place in their life. However, it is common that now people change their place and often live in different places during their life. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the convenience of transportation and advanced technology, people are more easily to travel and live in different countries and places instead of living in one place throughout their life. It provides benefits, however, it also has its drawbacks. The increment in accessibility enables people to travel and move to different countries. For instance, transportation systems are currently very wide and convenient, by taking a train or aeroplane, people can go anywhere they wish. Air tickets and train tickets are relatively cheap nowadays compared with the prices 10 years ago. Thanks to the appearance of advanced technology, people can travel to different places they preferred effortlessly. On one hand, there are advantages to people moving to other places. They can know more about different cultures when they encounter local people there. In addition, they can understand that the culture of the original place is not the sole culture that the world has, thus learning to embrace different values in the world. Moreover, they can learn a new language while living in a new place, which enlarged their language abilities. On the other hand, people living in other places, where it is far from their hometown, result in decreased face-to-face interaction and communication between them and their relatives. Another point that deserves our attention is that people may not be able to adapt to the new place with different food culture and lifestyle, such as people in Chinese tend to eat rice each meal, while people in America seldom consume rice, but fast foods and sandwiches. To conclude, living apart from the original places have its advantages, however, never should we overlook the fact that people who move to other places not only face a variety of changes including environmental and food culture, but they also have lesser chances to interact with their families directly. Therefore, people should take into account whether it is suitable for them to live abroad.