Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Main cause of health problems comes from the manufactured food or beverage containing excessive sugar. Thus, some people argue that raising the price of manufactured food and drink will reduce the consumption rate of that goods. I partially agree with this mechanism as it will bring an immense benefit. It is widely accepted that people are more selective when purchasing an item. Therefore, making manufactured foods and drinks to be expensive will likely solve the issue. Another point to be considered is, since sugar can be addictive, limiting a person to buy one by setting a higher price of that product will impede the addiction. For example, an expensive carbonated drink can shift oneself's priority to the other products. However, there are some alternatives that might support the increase in price of produced food and drink. Although focusing on getting these items to be expensive will work, the companies of the healthy alternatives should also lower the price of their product. This reckons the market reality that cheaper price is more attractive regardless of the sold product. For instance, people will be attracted to the low-cost eatery compared to the expensive yet manufactured ones. Moreover, health coverage is the most expensive priority, whereas, every individual tries to avoid it. Additionally, by not covering health issuance due to sugar might be the most effective solution of reducing sugar consumption per person. In conclusion, increasing the price of manufactured goods, especially the drink and food, might contribute to the decrease in digesting sugar. On the other hand, I hold the view that limiting the health insurance for sugar related illness will have the greatest effect in solving this issue.