Art classes, such as painting and drawing, as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that art courses should be taught in schools and these courses should conclude a wide range of art materials, ranging from painting to drawing. In my opinion, basic art infrastructure should be taught in high schools. It is my view that learning art in high school could guide pupils towards discovering their interest fields and help them to improve their talent. For instance, I have a famous friend who is a writer. After high school, he chose electrical engineering as his major. Nonetheless, after wasting 4 years of his life he realized that he had a natural ability in writing stories and he changed his major to literature. In contrast, some people claim that students are more likely to find art difficult to understand and it could have an adverse effect on their curriculum. They firmly insist that it could lead to dropping out of school. I do not find this argument convincing as other subjects like mathematics and physics are as difficult as art, and learning the basics of art cannot be hard enough to bring about dropping out of school. Moreover, since art courses are more practical compared with mathematics and physics, pupils can find these courses as leisure. In conclusion, I completely agree with teaching art in high schools because it is more important for pupils to introduce to all fields of study before entering the tertiary level so as to find their talents and prevent them to waste their lives on a major that is not interested in.