Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that some kids spend a lot of their time on using smartphones daily. There are some reasons and I believe that this trend has demerits. To begin with, some factors are responsible for this tendency. Firstly, most children lack the ability to control themselves. Today, a lot of stimulating contents are available that children can access via smartphones. In addition, children generally do not possess the ability to manage their time well and control themselves. This leads to them spending unnecessary time on the internet. Secondly, easy accessibility to portable devices is another cause for this trend. Unlike the past, from a young age, people are using various electronic devices such as laptops, tablets and including smartphones. In my opinion, this tendency seems negative to me. First of all, overusing smartphones may be harmful for children. Instead, we encourage children to exercise for their health. Getting exercise plays an important role for the development of children. But they may lose physical movement if they spend too much time on the electronic devices. Furthermore, there is a danger of information inaccuracy. As the accessibility to phones increasingly rises, children can readily gain information online. However, not all information online is accurate. Considering children are yet to have the ability to fully distinguish exact data. In conclusion, it seems to me that easy access to electronic devices can lead to children spending more time on their phone. And I believe that this trend has cons. Therefore, parents should encourage them to exercise instead of using smartphones.