Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

Some languages disappear gradually each year. Some people agree that this phenomenon is more advantageous because they can focus on learning a small number of languages. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement because languages can be a cultural identity of a country and people can develop a higher mindset by learning different languages. With regard to cultural identity, language is the lifeblood of culture and the core of identity. The impact that languages disappear on individuals who live in countries with local languages has clear disadvantages. Firstly, language is one of national cultures, one way to distinguish each country is by their flag, their name, and also their language. If the languages disappear, it means the country lost one of their cultures. Secondly, new generations in that nation should learn new languages because their mother language is dying out. Furthermore, since 1990, many countries in the world have claimed they lost their language every year because of colonization, modernization, and immigration that happened in previous times. On the other hand, making everything easier is also not effective all the time. As a consequence, the negative impact on the human brain will be one of them. Our brain becomes less active and always tries to look for easier alternatives in any situation. Many individuals can continuously improve their critical thinking and tolerance when they are learning foreign languages. Oxford University has done research on people who speak their traditional language around the world and found 71% of indigenous people are able to maintain their native language. They are happier and more fluent in communication. In conclusion, although fewer languages in the world disappear each year, it will be easier for a few individuals to communicate. I believe that the negative impacts, such as identity loss and slow brain development are greater than the positive effects. Therefore, it is our own responsibility to preserve our original language for the future generation.