In some countries, citizens are allowed to keep a gun in their home. Discuss both views and give your opinions

In modern-day society, some countries allow their inhabitants to posses guns at home. As far as this argument goes, this phenomenon has both merits and demerits; however, the disadvantages overwhelm the advantages. First and foremost, this part of the essay depicts a plus of the issue. It can be clearly seen that being able to ensure families’ safety is a noteworthy advantage. Indeed, by possessing guns at home can residents maintain their security towards potential menace such as terrorists or armed thieves. For instance, a buglar bugler sneaked into my acquaintance's house, threatening his family members using a knife. However, my acquaintance was able to force the stealer to go away by taking out his shotgun. Furthermore, when the second stance is taken into account, it can be envisioned that the minuses outnumber the pluses. First of all, the increasing incidence of crime and vice is a concerning issue. As an example, it is estimated that the number of young offenders’ attacks towards schools skyrocketed by 200 cases in the course of 11 years, commencing from 2011. Furthermore, most of the cases are related to gun violence. Moreover, having guns also threaten the safety of societies and communities. For instance, after being involved in a gun fight between two thug clans, one of my friends, who is living in a country which has no restrictions towards guns owning, always feels being threatened and terrified whenever he has to go out of his house. In a nutshell, I pen down by reconfirming that having guns at home has a merit and two demerits. Nonetheless, the question posed here is how to harness its strengths and mitigate its weaknesses for a better future.