Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

I agree fully with the statement considering the last 30 years of Transportation growth and the need for logistics. The Traffic Jams can be termed a critical issue for every country, which is inviting a range of problems for the environment and to an Individual. In today's world, Car has become a mandatory "must-have" asset of life. With the distances we need to cover to reach the office, kids' school, sporting clubs, and other public offices, we need a safer, easier way of transportation and hence the car, that too owned car became priority no. 1. Now this gives rise to a concerning situation obviously. A situation of too many vehicles on the road leads to traffic jams, fuel consumption and pollution in terms of air, and noise, heat generated is adding to the Global warming crisis too. The road rages are another increasing plethora of problems. We,, humans created the need for transportation and so does the birth of issues related to it. As an individual, I think there are innovative ways possible to handle the issues mentioned above. One of the ways would be to regulate the traffic by socializing the concept of "Carpooling" where people can share the car for the identical or the same destination. This not only reduces no. of cars on the road but also fuel, and noise along with it. The sharing increases human interaction between the passengers, a positive side of the solution!! Another solution would be marking "even-odd" based on car numbering, thus alternate days we can have even-numbered cars and odd-numbered cars, which results in the mentioned benefits above. If we could club the car -pooling with this solution, it will create wonders to have maximum benefits, with almost 90% removal of the traffic / noise / fuel consumption issues. In my opinion, the Government can take the lead by assigning a solution committee for implementation state-by-state. Strict governance would bring the total neutralization of such impending issues forever. Government should also run public campaigns for making people aware of the issues as a nation.