Food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

According to Abraham's Maslow hierarchy of need, food and other consumables are regarded as basic human needs. Unfavorable weather conditions, poor soil texture just to mention a few are among the reasons why food travel miles before it reaches it users. Thus, the transport of food to several miles is a positive trend. The principal reason why food needs to travel thousands of miles is because unfavorable weather conditions that hinders the growth of certain crops. For example, the International institute of tropical agriculture reveal in their annual journal that 50% of the asian countries experienced weather that inhibit the growth of palm tree. Extract from this tree give off to red-oil which is needed for an healthy diet. As a result of this unpalatable climatic conditions, Red oil needs to be transported to the affected Asia nations from other part of the world. Despite the above discussed cause, there are several reasons why transportation of food is considered a beneficial trend. Firstly, this trend serves as a source of income to all the parties involved. The reward for labour is wages. When food is been transported to distant places, money is been paid by food users, employment opportunities are been created during the process. Because of this, the economic status of those involved will be improved. Another reason why this development is regarded positive is because it helps meet people needs and desires. Studies from American institute of food say that a greater percentage of food that satisfy American people curiosity comes from surrounding nations. Without food been transported to far places, meeting food security will be a challenge for people. Access to quality and nutritious food will be impaired. Thus, transporting food to distant place helps to curb the problems of food insecurity and help to satisfy people desire on food. After analyzing how transportation of food to far places helps to serve as means of revenue as well as also helping to quench food insecurity, it has proven that this bring more merits than demerits. It is hoped that distant supply of food continue to grow in an unshakable manner.