In many part of the world, there are now multi-generational households, e.g. where grandparents live with parents and children, than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? DO you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern world, there is a trend that more and more families becoming a multi-generational households than in the past. Overall, I think there are two main reasons help to develop this phenomenon and could lead to both positive and negative effects. To illustrate, the high cost of living and rental could be the reasons that people choose to live together but not seperate and possess their own houses. Due to inflation around the world, it is considered that people generally need to pay more to buy a same thing than in the past, this situation does not only happen on daily groceries but also on house rental and utility bills. However, most of people still get same or similar level of payment, which somehow worsen the situation and put publics in to a dilemma. On the other hand, the phenomenon of living together can have both advantage and drawbacks to citizens. Firstly, it could be more easy for a family to connect and maintain their relationship when the members live together. Since they now share the same place to live, they have much more time to spend together and maintain or even enhance the harmonious in the flat. However, the biggest drawback could be the concern of privacy. Nowadays, human beings are more pursuing freedom and their own privacy, but the fact of living together means there are less space for an individual, hence, a person may feel uncomfortable or even increase the chance of having fights or arguments. To conclude, multi-generational living structure is an irresistable global trend. The reason behind it could be other social issues, and it has both positive and negative effects to socialties social ties.