Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees work from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh disadvantages?

Three years ago, when Coronavirus hit the globe and started an international pandemic, people had no choice but to work from home. This situation raised awareness of the idea of working from home and how it can sometimes be a better option than travelling to work every day. I agree with this opinion and believe that the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I will explain the advantages and disadvantages of this topic. The first advantage of working from home is the benefits for the environment. In our modern world, people travel to work by their own private car, which leads to traffic congestion and worse, poor air pollution. Working from home will cause an improvement in air pollution in crowded cities which consequently improves climate change. Furthermore, working from home is good for mental health. Some offices can be stressful with an unhealthy environment. The pressure of being good compared to others can affect people in a negative way, so I believe that working from your safe place can help your mental health. Studies have shown that throughout Covid19 people were calmer while working since they were comfortable in their own homes and were even more beneficial since they had no interruptions or distractions from other co-workers as they experience in the office. For example, working on a big project with no interceptions can help finish it faster by being more focused on your assignment. On the other hand, one disadvantage of practising your job in a domestic environment is having technical difficulties. Working from a long-distance office forces employees to arrange video calls in order to gather a conference when there is a possibility of having poor signal or trouble connecting. This problem directly affects the amount of work being done and the work quality. While it is true that computerised problems can be a frustrating issue, I still believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this topic. In conclusion, In spite of technical difficulties being a drawback of working from home, in my view, the benefits of global preservation and mental health outweigh the costs.