n the modern world, a university education is essential in order to get a rewarding job and earn a high salary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that getting a university degree in the modern world has a lot of appeal. The question is, is it really essential for job satisfaction and a high income? I personally don't think so. In this essay, I will attempt to elaborate on why I have this perspective. Firstly, we have to ask, what makes a profession rewarding? the latest research seems to indicate that it comes down to three main aspects; job autonomy, competence within the role, and progression. All of these have nothing to do with previous academic success per se. In addition to this, there are various other routes individuals can take to gain experience and progress within a career. One of those specific routes is becoming an apprentice. These roles don't require previous university qualifications and provide key first-hand experience of the job itself. On top of that, these are paid positions and don't result in an accumulation of debt, the same way that studying for a degree would. Those who complete these schemes are then able to progress in their careers, and earn very respectable salaries. There is also the option of starting your own business. This has many appeals, including control over one's time, and a much higher earning potential. Although this type of career can be very demanding, it can also have great rewards. Including a greater ability to impact the world around us in a more meaningful way. In conclusion, studying at university has a lot to offer, especially for those wanting to pursue specific careers, such as medicine, pharmacy, dentistry etc. However, this is not essential for job satisfaction and earning a good income. Apprenticeship schemes and starting a business, are both great alternatives to studying at university.