In many countries, people are consuming more sugar-based drinks than before. Why is this happening, and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

A plethora of communities nowadays have become addicted to drinks which are mixed with sugar content and this has become a mandatory habit followed by many nations. Moreover, the increase in the number of brands manufacturing cold drinks has engaged people to consume to a larger extent. However, strict policies taken against these companies can decrease consumption. This essay will dictate problems associated with this issue as well as the available solutions to improve this habit. The demand for sweet container beverages have been increased over the past few years, the consumer brands are investing heavy capital in advertising and promoting their products to generate huge profits. However, the implications of these drinks have created health issues among children as well as teenagers. For instance, a report from WHO in 2019 stated that youngsters aged between 4-14 years are the targeted audience of these products, and out of the whole 20 per cent of them have been detected with obesity problems. On the other hand, the government as well as society must take strict actions by letting the public aware of the side effects these soft drinks bring when people consume them. To elaborate, social campaigns in which individuals can raise their voices against banning such beverages. To cite an example, Government can align a team of individuals who could produce content using various social media platforms such as Twitter, and Facebook to reach out to the maximum population. However, running awareness campaigns at schools and colleges would send a message consisting of the harmful effects of mocktails to youngsters. To conclude, the limited consumption of these sugar-based beverages can be harmful to any human being. Meanwhile, a reduction in usage followed by social awareness schemes would guide people to become more knowledgeable so that they are educated enough while checking the sugar content of a product when making a purchase of such items.