Many students are now refusing to choose science subjects at their university level. Why do you think this is happening and what is the impact on the community?

It is true that the number of science students are becoming inadequate in different parts of the world nowadays. There are two major factors that contribute to the common disinterest in science subjects. Firstly, those subjects are often challenging and require a lot of intensity as well as a great deal of patience and intelligence. The number of researches that an average Biology student has to do is more than other subjects with a higher level of both difficulty and commitment, which stops many students from choosing science as their majors. Secondly, employment opportunities in this particular field are limited and extremely competitive. Although a huge amount of time and effort is spent on science study at school, there is still little chance for them to get a job after graduation. Society greatly suffers from the scarcity of aspirants in science fields. As the number of science students is less, other majors such as business or economics have increased, hence the imbalance in the future workforce. Competitiveness increased due to too many degree holders of the same expertise pushing a worrying number of graduates to the verge of unemployment. Another problem is the shortage of science professionals as qualified employees are low in number. Unless more students decided to study science at university, sooner or later we would have to face a major human resource crisis. In conclusion, some strict requirements of science subjects and employment opportunities are the reasons why a lot of students are not choosing science subjects to study, and there are serious problems arising from this situation, hence government should create more job opportunities to overcome this issue.