In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Compared to the traditional family, the household structure and roles are very different in the modern family. In this essay, I will discuss the changes and explain why I hold a positive attitude towards the ongoing trend. There are some distinct changes in the contemporary family. Firstly, the family composition has become more simple than before. The majority of households consist of the nuclear family because people tend to have fewer children, or even no children. Additionally, because of the small number of family members who are mostly busy,, there are increasingly more elderly people moving into a care home. Secondly, the roles of married couples have changed, too. Thanks to the equal rights movements, women now have the same opportunities to attain qualifications and pursue a career as men do. Partners in a contemporary marriage will decide who works and who stays at home looking after their children, depending on the personal preference or who earns the most money. Personally, I consider the changes mentioned above optimistic. From an individual perspective, the elderly will live a better life in a care-home enjoying their peers’ company and being taken care of by professional nurses. On a broader societal level, the human population is too big that burdens the Earth. The growth of nuclear family can at least mitigate the overcrowded situation. In addition, we should be happy to live in a society where women and men have equal freedom which would also be beneficial to the country as a whole. For instance, people usually have better performance when they are doing the job chose by themselves. In conclusion, I believe that the prevalence of nuclear families and changing roles of males and females in the home are rather positive changes because these allow people to go after jobs that they are good at and also they love