Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the biggest issues the world faces today is the big amount of packages of litter thrown into the environment. And so, in the midst of all worries and efforts to reduce this kind of waste, people have different opinions about whether the responsible for diminishing packages would-be manufacturers and supermarkets on their packaging process or would-be consumers on their buying-conscious habits. Therefore, this essay proposes to discuss possible reasons for either position and also expose an opinion. Consumers have some guilt for the increase in package disposal if they hadn’t bought these products with these wraps, producers wouldn’t supply markets with more packed products. And at the end, who finally throws the product’s package in the rubbish bin, utterly transforming this material into waste, is the supermarket customer. So, there is no way to say that consumer has no influence on litter production. Therefore, decreasing the trash on the planet depends on each citizen of the world. On the other hand, undoubtedly there is a big part of the responsibility of manufacturers to reduce package production as they are the main producer of this kind of garbage. If they find out another way of packing their goods and also different ways of setting up supermarket shelves, consumers will adhere to them and by doing so less waste will be thrown into nature. Supermarkets have also partial bargaining power to reduce packaging in products, as they can avoid buying and exposing on their shelves goods from brands that don’t do an effort to reduce non-ecological components in their packaging process. For all that was mentioned so far, I do believe that the main responsible for creating and consequently, also for reducing package litter, is the manufacturer. Because production phase is the one where feedstock comes to life, or in other words, turns to be a final product, and it is also the step where people have more choices about what it will be made of, or how it is going to be made. After that, the next steps are just to deal with what was already made. In conclusion, every part has its own responsibility for the reduction of package litter, especially making pressure on the manufacturer. However, the producer is the one who has the utter responsibility to choose whether the waste will be produced or not.