Many customs and traditional ways of behaviour are no longer relevant to the modern life and not worth keeping. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s era, with all the technology and innovations, it is said that there is no longer room for traditions and folklore, as they are redundant and should be forgotten. I strongly disagree with this thought, as I will explain in this essay. I believe customs and traditional behaviour are very relevant, as they define us as a nation, learn us how to interact with each other and teach us valuable moral lessons. Traditions and folklore define us as a nation and they give us our identity. Moreover, they unite us. In today’s modern life, more than ever we focus on ourselves and do not find the time to interact with others. We have forgotten how important it is to be together and spend time with each other and reflect on our traditional values and customs. For example, in the, Netherlands it is very usual to celebrate Christmas with family. Here, particularly at the dinner table, surrounded by your closest loved ones you find the time for reflection and peace. Also, customs and traditional behaviour work like a mirror, because they show us what our morals and values are as a nation. After all, in our old,habits we can filter what we, as citizens, find important, when it comes to ethics. Especially in today’s hectic,world it is paramount to remember what is really important. A good example is the festivity of Santa Claus. It is a Western tradition where children receive presents from an imaginary figure. However, the underlining message is that you should do good and help others where you can. In conclusion, I believe that holding on to our folklore and traditions in modern life is an absolute must. It will help us remind what is important in life and it will tell us who we are as a country.