Many cities experience a traffic problem nowadays. What are the best ways to solve the traffic problems that cities have?

The rapid surge in the population of the world has created a serious issue of vehicular traffic in various cities in many countries. Traffic is not just annoying for people as it increases the travel time, but also one of the main contributor to air pollution and sound pollution. In this essay, I will provide a few solutions which could help in resolving the transportation-related woes. In the last few decades, the demand for vehicles has drastically increased which in turn means more vehicles on roads. However, the current conditions of the roads were not ready to meet the expectations, therefore, traffic congestions were bound to happen. Nevertheless, the governments of the respective nations should take steps to increase the process of road widening and selective targeting of areas where the traffic problems are unbearable should be done first. In addition, where road widening isn't possible, construction of flyovers can be an alternative solution, this not only eases vehicular movement but also improves the landscape of the city. The roads and transport authorities should also increase the road tax on vehicles and simultaneously cut the fares of public transport as this could urge people to stop buying new vehicles, instead will encourage them to use metros and buses. Furthermore, wise decisions like these will also increase the tax collections and that money can be invested in the development of cities. Lastly, the ever-increasing pressure on natural resources like petrol and diesel will also get some relief if the above recommendations are implemented. To conclude, traffic problems are not easy to solve and strategic decisions need to be taken to overcome them. Engineers should carefully think about future generations as well while laying roads rather than just focusing on solving the current generation traffic issues.