In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second hand clothing amongst the younger generation.1. Why is this happening? 2. Do you think its a positive or negative development?

In recent times, there has been an increasing rise in the popularity of used garments among young people. This happens because of the ongoing price rate of clothing around the world. I personally believe that it is a positive development because it encourages the reuse of clothing. People, especially the young generation are interested in buying used garments because the price of new clothing has increased a lot compared to the past. This happens because the production costs of garment industries have risen due to the increasing rate of raw materials. The young generation who live independently separate from their parents, cannot afford brand new clothing. Therefore, they prefer purchasing second-hand clothing to save their money. For instance, young people in India, at the age of 16 to 20, buy second-hand clothing because they have to manage a lot of other expenses. This is a positive development because it promotes the reuse of every clothing item and assures environmental safety. The production of clothing causes a significant amount of environmental pollution because of the utilization of fossil fuels in garment industries. If young people are interested in buying used clothes, a smaller amount of clothing will be produced compared to the past, and a smaller amount of pollution will have happened to the environment. For instance, in Canada, according to a survey, when people started utilizing second-hand garments, the air and water pollution rates significantly decreased. To conclude, young people want to save their money by purchasing second-hand clothing. Using second-hand clothing saves the environment because production will be decreased and less amount of fossil fuels will be utilized.