Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be only allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

These days, choosing a major to study at university has become one of the most controversial debates. The two diverse notions have been stated which one is studying your favourable subject, while the other one suggests taking beneficial courses, thus, science and technology. I believe that students should be allowed to choose their desirable subject despite its benefits. On one hand, some people argue that selecting majors which are not profitable can be a way of wasting your time and life. In other words, they believe pupils are not permitted to spend their precious lifetime working on other subjects. Art and music, for example, are considered as some kind of career which are less in relation to technology and science and should not be taught freely in institutes. On the other hand, an adverse group of people claim that university majors should be chosen by pupils based on their interests and talents. Moreover, it ought not to be compulsory and forced by their parents or society. Their preference, for instance, might be off science related; however, should not be underestimated or neglected because it may illustrate its usefulness in the near future. Furthermore, it is chiefly unreasonable to assume that every student can be successful in studying majors associated with technology. In conclusion, despite two viewpoints which have been discussed, I firmly hold this opinion that scholars should occupy their time at university with their preferable subjects whether they are connected to science or there is no correlation between them.