In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that the working world has never been more competitive for those trying to enter. This is made even more evident by the number of highly educated graduates failing to find a job. The question is, how did we get here? In this essay, I will attempt to elaborate on what I believe to be the core of the issue and suggest some potential solutions to this ongoing problem. Firstly, one would think, given the increase in those attaining higher levels of education, employers would be jumping at the chance to take them on. However, this goes against the fundamental fact, that those who are hiring, value job experience above all else. Unfortunately, many of those graduating from university lack this key quality. In addition to this, we now have a huge oversaturation of those with higher academic qualifications. For example, having an undergraduate degree doesn't mean the same today as it did 50 years ago. Attending educational institutions has become far more accessible, and as a result, attaining qualifications is not a unique achievement, especially in a world where we are trying to stand out from the rest. In my opinion, one of the best remedies for this issue is for higher education establishments to incorporate more commercial and industrial experience into their curriculum. This is already being done in some areas, where a student will take a year out of their academic study to work and gain critical insight into a specific area of interest, and earn a salary while doing so. Another alternative could be to offer more paid apprenticeships to prospective students and help them skip university altogether. Saving a lot of student debt in the process. In conclusion, yes gaining more and more qualifications at an academic level has its benefits, but it is not necessarily addressing the increasing number of unemployed graduates. We need a change in how students spend their time at educational institutions, with more on-hand experience incorporated, and different alternatives for those not wanting to attend university in the first place, with the use of apprenticeships.