Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Educational institutions play a vital role in setting the foundation of a successful career. However, the studies should be mainly focused on skills required in the future job is the thinking of some individuals while others oppose that the university's key responsibility is to provide education in its entirety and it should not be based on the employer. In my opinion, if students are being taught subjects which will be beneficial in the workspace will give them an upper hand to be more productive as well as they would gain more practical knowledge. First and foremost, universities should provide graduates with the learning needed for their careers because it will help the students to think more practically despite wasting time on unnecessary learning. For instance, many bachelor courses often have subjects which will not be required in real-life workspace. Certainly, this would be a waste of effort and time in many cases which could neglect the importance of studying the topics that act as the foundation for the job. If theoretical studies are given more value then students would not be able to work with the same passion and energy. Secondly, many companies have a training program for the new hires so that they could actually learn about the position they have applied for. This is mainly because the schools provide deficient learning and graduates have to study more even after completing higher studies. In Amazon, for example, all the newcomers joining need to be trained for at least a month so that they could study for their profession. Consequently, this would lead to less productivity and more exhaustion for beginners who have just stepped into their careers. In conclusion, universities should provide the skills and abilities that play a foundational role in creating a career for the upcoming employees which would eventually lead to not only saving time but also making them think practically and work productively.