In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All over the world, over the recent years, international tourism has become popular and common among individuals. Anyone can go almost anywhere without further difficulties bring a significant amount of financial profit to a host country. As a result, some assume that this phenomenon has also several negative sides as well. To start with, it is not secret that one of the obvious benefits of tourism is ample job opportunities. In other words, in order to satisfy demands of foreign visitors, the government tries to establish and organize hotels, restaurants, souvenir shops, recreational centers for travelers meaning indigenous dwellers could be employed. Another good side of tourism could be a new experience for tourists. To be clear, when foreign visitors make a journey to other countries, they will see, meet, try out, talk to local people. Even, they can participate in some festivals to feel a sense of community. They learn new things that they have never heard before. When it comes to drawbacks, one them could be environmental issues caused by tourists. To be more precise, foreign visitors normally do not only walk around a city, they tend to go to the countryside to have a barbecue, to throw mini parties or to hunt sometimes. Consequently, local habitat may suffer from tourists’ wishes as well as actions. Furthermore, they are inclined to leave their garbage ignoring the dire consequences of their actions. Second disadvantage might be connected with temporary seasonal jobs. In touristy season, local people work when the season is over, they may become redundant which can cause financial problems. In my opinion, taking both disadvantages and advantages into consideration, I assume that merits of tourism outweigh its demerits.