Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are various attitudes when it comes to whether students are free to study anything that is based on their interests or only to major in some useful subjects. Although some people believe that only certain subjects should be learned, I would argue that university students should be given the opportunity to choose what they would like to learn. It is undeniable that some key subjects, such as mathematics, physics and chemistry, are more likely to be beneficial than other subjects, including art and music. This is because those subjects can equip students with skill sets that are needed in future high-tech-related occupations. Therefore, not only students will benefit from getting decent and lucrative jobs, the technological and economic growth can also be reached as the development of the whole society can be underpinned by the influx of talent. However, if students cannot choose things they really like, the learning process will become monotonous and boring, which is neither interesting nor appealing. Only when students can choose their preferred areas of study can they devote both time and vigour and finally become passionate about those fields. This can help those students to build expertise in their professions and fully achieve their potential. Moreover, in this ever-changing society, it is hard to predict which area of knowledge will be the most useful in the future, so making choices based on one’s interest can help him/her to stand out and find a foothold in the competitive labour market no matter what will happen. In conclusion, while it is sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I am a supporter of the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.