The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

There are those who think that deciding stricter punishments against accidents on pathways is only a method to reduce car crimes. In my opinion, I partially disagree with this view, and the reason will be elaborated in enlisted paragraphs. Firstly, let us think about a beneficial point of this change. It is the fact that if the punishment becomes harder than in the past, car drivers would beware how to drive more, and it will generate some positive effects on walkers and bikers. For instance, Japanese government enacted more severe laws against car accident in 2018, and the number of the accidents diminished from 2018 to 2020, and this is because many drives have to concentrate on driving to avoid expensive payment. Hence, harsh rules would evoke the individuals’ caution more. However, perhaps this should not be the case. After all, although administers decide some strict penalties for drivers’ offences, many people would be used to drive under the severe guidelines. Furthermore, they may obtain nervous and anxiety from the rules, and it would produce more accidents. According to the dissertation done in 2020, one of the main reasons of the crimes on pathways is stress from driving and other things. In addition, they would drive slower, and it triggers traffic congestion, then the traffic jam generates adverse impacts on the citizens who used road. Thus, harsh penalties would make an increase of vehicle crimes. In conclusion, though making more strict punishments has the advantage, there are more disadvantages than the positive point. Therefore, I slightly disagree with this statement.