Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems . To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

A number of people believe that increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. The opposing view asserts that such a way is not the best way for catering above problems. Both views have compelling reasons which will be discussed in detail. Although I believe that, this method may be impactful in countries which have powerful transportation systems it is not the best policy for each society. On the one hand, firstly There are some viable solutions to be taken into consideration, one of them is increasing the price of petrol this way may be suitable in a brief time but in the long,perspective it has not the only justifying reason. For instance, in many developing countries such as Iran which does not have an advanced transport system society has no choice but to have to use their own car to achieve their destinations on time. So in such a situation, there is no logical relation between demand and pricing. Secondly, society has to be convinced about using carpool have more advantageous for them. In addition, the government has to assure people about improving public transportation. On the other hand, the experiences in many developed countries such as The Netherlands show people tend to useless own car since the value of parking and petrol is more than public transportation. In conclusion, It is my firm conviction that if the policy of government about the transport system runs on principles the perennial problems of traffic and pollution will be catered but the measures should be taken according to each society.