Individuals and businesses alike are choosing to communicate professionally or socially via technology rather than in person. Talk about the benefits and drawbacks of using technology for communication.

There is no doubt that technology has improved the way people communicate, either in a social or professional environment. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this recent trend. On the one hand, it is widely known that today people can contact friends and teammates instantaneously online, which is extremely advantageous when they are based in different locations. This is an obvious advantage, especially in the professional environment, where the growing popularity of conference calls has allowed business meetings easily happen even when the participants are not together. For instance, many multinational companies have recently been saving a great deal of money, as their employees do not need to travel for attending meetings in other locations anymore. As a result, these companies can invest more money in distant locations, being able to control their operations worldwide online. On the other hand, virtual contact may be disadvantageous for people who are trying to build strong relationships. Due to the lack of deeper personal contact, it is unlikely that one reaches the same level of friendship with another who was met online rather than in person. For instance, recent research has indicated that online communication is highly helpful for business and old friends who live in distant locations, however, the scenario is not the same for those who are looking for new friends, as individuals need to meet in person in order to build stronger friendships. As a result, if one is seeking to find and develop new friendships, one should consider in-person meetings. to sum up, despite the benefits that virtual communication can offer, such as conference calls for business decisions, the drawbacks of not being able to build strong relationships with people who only met online should also be taken into consideration.