In schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

In many academic institutions, gender-based segregation in the selection of academic subjects is a pervasive issue. Female learners gravitate towards art and humanities courses, while male scholars tend to pursue science-based majors. This essay will delve into the reason behind the persistence of such a trend and it is crucial to explore the root cause for such inclinations because it should be changed. One reason why girls prefer humanities courses over science and majors within the domain of technology may be due to societal expectations and identity stereotyping. Learners may be influenced by early expectations from parents and teachers on which educational path they should adopt for career development. For example, girls are often encouraged to develop social and emotional skills such as communication, and emotional intelligence, while boys are more likely to be facilitated to cultivate intellectual and analytical abilities. As a result, female students may feel less confident in subjects related to the fields of science, mathematics, and analytics, believing that these subjects may be too challenging for them. On the other hand, male pursuers may consider art and humanities to be too soft or not masculine enough and may hesitate to choose them. The tendency to choose specific academic areas based on identity is detrimental to students as well as society and it should be changed. Scholars may not always align with the above-mentioned societal norms which may pose a strain on their future employability. For instance, it can limit learners' academic options and future career paths. Girls who are persuaded major in art courses may find themselves intrigued and passionate about engineering and computing. The elimination of gender-based subject selection allows them to discover their strengths and diversify their skill set to stay abreast and demonstrate their technical expertise in a fast-evolving world. This is why the tendency needs to be changed and scholars should have access to all academic areas regardless of identity, and educators should ensure that they provide an inclusive learning environment. In a nutshell, identity-based subject selection generally arises from parental and societal expectations with unprogressive thinking and therefore should be updated to align with current societal norms. Encouraging students to choose specializations based on their interests and aptitudes rather than gender will foster a more equitable and diverse society.