In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Opinions are divided on whether the emphasis on new product features in advertisements is a negative development. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this and this essay aims to highlight the rationale behind it. Those who advocate the drawbacks of this approach have some convincing arguments, especially about impulse shopping. Since the introduction of marketing, it is undeniable that consumers are buying more items than they actually need. This is the result of modern marketing strategies, which are designed to instil the notion that everyone had worked hard, therefore they should be compensated for their hard work through shopping. Gradually, this creates a habit for people to purchase without careful consideration about their monthly expenses, such as housing, food or other amenities. However, I believe that this development is a positive one due to incentivising technological advancement and promoting a competitive market. Concerning the former, businesses must improvise or incorporate some new functions in order to adapt and meet customers’ needs. As a result, this motivates creativity to come up with new designs and products. A notable example is the birth of the iPhone, which is equipped with a novel touch-screen giving the iPhone an edge over other phones on the market. If the iPhone had not been introduced, modern appliances would not come with this useful feature. Regarding the latter, companies can earn more profit and at the same time, urging others to innovate and come up with new products. This eventually will bring about various benefits to consumers as they can enjoy better products and services. In conclusion, people nowadays express their concern about companies focusing on showcasing the latest features of their products, leading to impulsive shopping habits. However, I think otherwise since it is the consumers will be benefitted from numerous advantageous functions of their products and make the best bang for their buck.