Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

It is often argued that a large group of individuals choose jobs and careers, in which they do not have an interest and do not have the capability to excel in that career. Although, it could be due to societal pressure it leads to unhappiness, anxiety and constant pressure in life. The main reason for choosing an undesired profession in society, and what people think, it is a very common belief in some under-developed countries that any profession other than science, is not considered respectable and profitable. Therefore, people end up making the wrong choice, and get into careers they have no aptitude to excel in. For instance, research conducted at Columbia University suggests that almost 90% of students select the programmes depending on how much money they will have rather than what really interests them. As a result, of not selecting the graduate programme appropriately, leads to a constant feeling of pressure to get the job done, rather than being at ease and enjoying the work. Moreover, this continuous state of being unhappy causes stress and depression in people, consequently, they are not able to show their full potential at anything in life. However, in a recent study, it was suggested that folks who are unsatisfied at work, end up having a very damaged personal life as well. Additionally, it affects the family life, you take out the stress on the kids and spouse, eventually leading to a toxic family life. To conclude, it is extremely essential to opt for a profession which interests you without any influence from your peers. Otherwise, it has very negative outcomes in the long run, it not only destroys the individuals but families as well. Now is the time, when we start focusing on these important topics which have always been neglected in the past.