In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

It is true that many people protest to build new homes in the countryside and call for keeping those places intact. While I agree that scenery protection is essential, I do not think new residential spaces always ruin the rural space. There are several reasons why I believe that the Outback should be preserved. Firstly, those terrains act like a lung of a country with vegetation which can balance the ecosystem. Secondly, many remote areas are becoming vacation hot spots, where people can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and recharge their energy, and therefore those areas have contributed considerably to the tourism industry of the country. For example, more and more city dwellers go to the countryside on holiday to breathe in the fresh air and experience life in the slow lane. Finally, many parts of the world depend on agriculture for a living, and vast rice fields or farmlands provide people with vital sources of food such as grains, vegetables and meats. However, living spaces do not always necessarily spoil the rural districts. Many of those places have large land that is abandoned, and the government in those places can circle the spaces to build new homes provided that they manage properly the public services like drainage systems and garbage collecting schemes. Also, the architectural style of those houses should be considered so that they do not conflict with the landscape of the land. For example, classical designs like stilt houses or cottages are ideal for rural surroundings. I strongly believe that those new houses have given the countryside a new face and a better look, and they even make those areas more attractive than ever. In conclusion, I advocate the idea of keeping rural surroundings unharmed, but I disagree that new settlement destroys them.