Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

As developing of technology, smartphones are getting closer to our lives. More and more people spend a larger amount of time in their free time using these devices because of their convenience and useful features. However, I believe that this is a negative trend for human beings, the time people spend on exercise or moving their bodies reduces and they are depending on their phones heavily. Firstly, the background of this boosting expansion of smartphones can be reasoned by their characteristics; countless information, ease to use, and multifunctions. The information in search platforms and social media have been updated every moment and they always offer us some entertainment to watch. Moreover, the usage of smartphones is based on free or cheaper than physical activities, which makes people have a low barrier to begin. Thirdly, it is possible to do shopping, watch films, communicate with friends and plan a holiday with the same device, they always have something to do with them. Smartphones have easier acceptance and useful facilities which can cover everything we want, And this is enough to attract us for using them. Furthermore, endless information makes people stick to the internet and it is difficult to manage their time. However, these are not only advantages but also disadvantaged which are lacking exercise and addiction to smartphones. Working out is one of the effective ways to have a healthy body, but this is prevented by smartphones, people do not need to go out to do something because they can do everything at home with their smartphones. Also, some just sit on the chair to play video games for more than 6 hours a day. In addition, one societal problem is coming up, a lot of people feel so anxious without smartphones. They bring everywhere, and they cannot control themselves. Some students consume their time by spending time with their phones, which causes sleeping and tiredness during classes. When I was a high school student, all of my student wasted their time for watching posted-videos instead of sleeping. And they were likely to have poor concentration and academic performance due to a shortage of rest. However, most of them could not stop that habit, they already relied on too much. The mental dependency on these devices is becoming a huge problem, while the amount of time that people utilize to mobile phones has increased. In conclusion, the development of smartphone has damaged to life-style and health balance. Not only let people do less activities, but also cause anxious and dependence on these devices. Therefore, people should seriously and carefully see their usages and situation.