Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Reducing packaging is one of the key points to overcoming environmental problems due to the overuse of resources, however, the authority of packaging problem is not clear yet. Some believe that too much packaging or environmental concerns should be considered in the process of production and stores which sell products. On the contrary to this, others claim that the situation can be changeable by the attitudes of customers. Both opinions are making sense and I agree with them. I argue that it is impossible to tackle with packaging problem to prioritise either of the opinions. Firstly, the packaging is done in the process of production, producers must have adequate power to make it different in a good way. The bakery near my house can be a representative example. They used to put each piece of bread on different plastic pieces of paper, however, they replaced it with paper-based packaging to decrease the amount of plastic used in the business. Like this small business, this is easier to change their style and they should have the responsibility for the local enviroment and keeping good impressions. Secondly, in some cases have difficulty switching their company policy, customers are required to have their own actions to let companies have correct behaviours. The business is usually constructed in order to get profits, they do need to care about the nature. Especially for larger companies, tend to be slow or ignore it because answering societal issues sometimes brings them to have losses. These companies, it is effective that customer has protested to convince them by stopping their purchases from that company. The shampoo companies in Japan started to offer reusable packaging after people avoid choosing that company. Customer demand is an indirect way to make the situation better, however, this is effective enough to try. In conclusion, both opinions are interconnected and reflect each other, which means that there are multiple answers to make it possible. Suppliers have been influenced by customer demands, customer are stimulated by company policy. They should be in a practical way at the same phase.