The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

Cutting down forests for urbanising and establishing new cities and towns has a huge impact on wildlife as a result many animal species are becoming extinct due to a lack of natural habitat and unsuitable living conditions. There are many environmental groups which are making petitions to the authorities to take necessary action and implement orders to protect these animals from becoming extinct. The below essay will help us to understand the advantages and the steps government should take in order to protect them. Elephant is one of the most endangered species in the world and it is facing many threats in the wild. However, it is considered a symbol of tradition, religion and culture especially in Asian countries. These gigantic, massive creatures are being used as blessing people in the temples and are used in carrying idols of deities in the processions during religious festivals in India. many devotees believe that it is a form of god they worship. Furthermore, these are kept in a natural habitat at the zoological park, visitors are allowed to view them at a close distance to feed them with bananas. Moreover, in some countries like Thailand, Cambodia, Laos elephant shows are being conducted where mahouts train these animals in doing a variety of stunts and performances where tourists from all over the world visit these countries. Additionally, children and adults enjoy elephant rides. Therefore, if these animals are safeguarded, there will be a drastic increase in the number of tourists visiting these countries each year as well as the tourism industry will be able to make huge profits. It is an important aspect to protect these species which are going extinct. According to statistics there are only 50000 elephants in the world and this number is decreasing gradually because they are becoming vulnerable and prey to the hunters who are hunting for the tusks which are indeed traded as smuggling goods. In order to avoid this situation the government has to take necessary measures and implement strict rules. Firstly, tracking the count of the animals which are extinct and providing them with a natural habitat where they can survive without any dangers of predators. Secondly, maintaining wildlife sanctuaries, breeding and reproduction centres. Finally, implementing strict laws such as hunting these animals is a trespass and punishable offence it can cause a penalty or life time imprisionment. In conclusion, protecting these endangered creatures helps in attracting more tourists and visitors this in return will be an advantage to the tourism department as it can be profitable in terms of business and finance. The most important possible solution to this problem would be setting up wildlife sanctuaries and reserve parks where natural habitat is provided that can be helpful for the survival of the endangered species.